Grocery Bag Holder

So I attempted to make grocery bag holder last night, at around 11:30pm. The measurements called for a piece of material a little bit longer than the ones I had, but I thought I’d just use one of the colourful ones instead of cutting out of black or white fabric. So I thought a nice yellow would look good. So I measured and cut my elastic and twill tape and pressed everything.

Attempt number one – I made my 3/8″ seam and went to continue when I realised I had actually sewed it incorrectly. So I pulled all the stitches out and rechecked the tutorial.

Okay…

Attempt number two – As I was about to start sewing I thought “I should check my bobbin and ensure there is enough thread”… But I didn’t. I didn’t even get a quarter of the way and the bobbin ran out! So I unpicked the seam again, and being around midnight, gave up for the night. I figured if I was making this many small mistakes now, I was really going to mess up the elastic or twill tape.

So the next day, attempt number three – Bobbin refilled and ready to go. Everything was going smoothly until I attempted to thread the elastic through the top opening and it got caught on the seam! So yet again, I had to unpick my sewing. So I did one side at a time and got the elastic through. After all of the effort that went into making something so simple, it almost makes me wonder why I bother? But it did turn out pretty good in the end, and will help keep my plastic bags in line!

Check it out for yourself and let me know your thoughts.

IMG_4080

One thought on “Grocery Bag Holder

Leave a Reply

